University of Bridgeport Purple Knights - Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Athletics

University of Bridgeport Unanimously Accepted into the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference

The University of Bridgeport (UB) has been accepted as the newest member of the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC), as announced on Wednesday by Commissioner Dan Mara. The acceptance followed a unanimous vote by the CACC Presidents Council, as UB will become a full-time member of the conference beginning on July 1, 2022.

“The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is excited to have the University of Bridgeport join the league,” Commissioner Mara said. “UB brings to the CACC a tremendous amount of success in both athletics and academics. The institution shares the same philosophy and goals as other CACC member institutions in regards to providing a first-rate experience for student-athletes in all phases of their collegiate careers at the NCAA Division II level.”

UB boasts a rich athletic tradition, and the school’s administration is excited to be joining the CACC as the Purple Knights enter a new era for the institution.

The University of Bridgeport is thrilled to accept the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference’s invitation to join an exceptional group of institutions that shine both academically and athletically,” said Danielle Wilken, Ed.D., president of University of Bridgeport. “We look forward to a successful partnership with the CACC that will provide more opportunities for our student-athletes to compete and excel throughout the tri-state area as well as in Delaware and Pennsylvania.”

“I’m in lockstep with President Wilken’s expression of our excitement in accepting the CACC’s invitation to join their conference,” said University of Bridgeport Vice President for Athletics Jay Moran. “I have nothing but good things to say about Bridgeport’s time in the East Coast Conference, and the opportunity to join this top-notch group of institutions that make up the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference will benefit both our student-athletes and our athletic programs. This partnership is a win-win for both the University of Bridgeport and the CACC.”

UB currently competes in 11 intercollegiate sports, including 10 that the CACC conducts a post-season championship event for. UB has also announced that beginning with the 2022-23 season it will sponsor men’s lacrosse and men’s/women’s track & field, which are also CACC championship sponsored sports.

In addition to the three newest sports mentioned above, in the Fall of 2022, UB will begin to compete as a CACC member in the sports of baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, women’s lacrosse, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball and women’s volleyball.

UB will join 12 other member schools in the CACC for the 2022-23 campaign, including Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Dominican College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Post University, Thomas Jefferson University and Wilmington University.

All 13 schools are private institutions located within four hours of each other as the CACC features the smallest geographic footprint in NCAA Division II. The reduced travel time for each institution enables student-athletes to remain in class longer, thus, enabling the CACC to be one of the top academic-performing conferences in the nation. According to recently released information from the NCAA, the CACC is tied for third out of 23 Division II conferences for the highest academic success rate score (84%). The mark is eight points higher than the national average of 76 percent. The CACC is also tied for fifth in NCAA Division II for the highest federal graduation rate (65%).

The Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference is an NCAA Division II Conference composed of 13 institutions in Connecticut, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The member institutions are Bloomfield College, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Dominican (N.Y.) College, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Goldey-Beacom College, Holy Family University, Nyack College, Post University of Waterbury, Thomas Jefferson University, University of the Sciences, and Wilmington University.