Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty and Staff

Mohammed Al-Azdee, Ph.D. (Indiana University)
Assistant Professor of Mass Communications
Office: Carlson Hall Room 211
Phone: (203) 576-4521
Email: malazdee@bridgeport.edu

Dave Benjamin, Ph.D. (University of Cambridge; United Kingdom)
Associate Professor of Global Development
Office: Carlson Hall, Room 226
Phone: (203) 576-4452
Email: dbenjami@bridgeport.edu

Stephen Hess Ph.D. (Miami University)
Assistant Professor of Political Science
Office: Carlson Hall Room 221
Phone:(203) 576-4209
Email: shess@bridgeport.edu

Susan Katz, M.S. (Quinnipiac University)
Lecturer in New Media and Communication Studies
Office: Carlson Hall Second Floor
Phone: (203) 576-4966
Email: skatz@bridgeport.edu

Yongbom Kim, Ph.D. (Kyunghee University)
Program Chair of Martial Arts Studies
Office: Carlson Hall, Room 233
Phone: 203-576-4970
Fax: (203) 576-4967
Email: ybkim@bridgeport.edu

William Lay, Esq. (J.D. Columbia University Law School)
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice and Human Security
Office: Carlson Hall Second Floor
Phone: (203) 576-4966
Email: wlay@bridgeport.edu

Melanie Mogavero, Ph.D. (Rutgers University)
Visiting Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice and Human Security
Office: 211 Carlson Hall
Phone: 203-576-4966
Email: mmogaver@bridgeport.edu

Claude A. Perrottet, Ph.D. (University of Laval)
Global Learning Initiatives (GLI) Faculty Trainer and Adjunct Professor of Global Development and Peace
Office: Wahlstrom Library Fifth Floor
Phone: (203) 576-4983
Email: claude@bridgeport.edu

Robert J. Riggs
, Ph.D. (University of Pennsylvania)
Assistant Professor of World Religions
Assistant Professor in the M.A. program in Global Development and Peace
Office: 209 Carlson Hall
Phone: 203-576-4966
E-mail: rriggs@bridgeport.edu

Richard L. Rubenstein, Ph.D. (Harvard University)
President Emeritus and Distinguished Research Professor of Religion
Office: Magnus Wahlstrom Library, 5th floor
Phone: (203) 576-4980
Email: rlr@bridgeport.edu

Mark K. Setton, D.Phil (University of Oxford)
Associate Professor, Martial Arts Studies & World Religions
Office: Carlson Hall, Room 234
Phone: (203) 576-4965
Email: marksetton@yahoo.com

Beth Skott, Ph.D. (University of Connecticut)
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Office: Carlson Hall, Room 209
Phone: 203-576-4453
Fax: (203) 576-4967
Email: bskott@bridgeport.edu

Guljana Torikai, Masters Diploma (Tashkent State Conservatory of Music)
Office Administrator and Adjunct Lecturer of Russian Language
Phone: 203-576-4966
Fax: 203-576-4966
Email: gtorikai@bridgeport.edu

Thomas J. Ward, D.Ed. (De La Salle University)
Dean,  The College of Public and International Affairs
Office: Carlson Hall, Room 235
Phone: (203) 576-4966
Email: ward@bridgeport.edu

Chunjuan Nancy Wei, Ph.D. (Claremont Graduate University)
Associate Professor, East Asian and Pacific Rim Studies
Chair, International Political Economy and Diplomacy
Office: Carlson Hall Room 219
Phone: (203) 576-4966
Email: chunjuaw@bridgeport.edu

Yanmin Yu, Ph.D. (Syracuse University)
Professor, Chair for Mass Communication and Global Media and Communication Studies
Office: Carlson Hall, Room 232
Phone: (203) 576-4157
Email: yanmin@bridgeport.edu

Faculty Serving in Administrative Roles Outside CPIA

CPIA FACULTY SERVING IN ADMINISTRATIVE ROLES OUTSIDE THE COLLEGE

Dr. Hans van der Giessen, Ph.D. (New York University)
Provost, Associate Professor of International Political Economy and Diplomacy
Office: Wahlstrom Library
Phone: (203) 576-4668
Email: hvdg@bridgeport.edu

Dr. Stephen Healey, Ph.D. (Boston College)
Associate Provost, Associate Professor of World Religions
Office: Wahlstrom Library
Phone: (203) 576-4668
Email: healey@bridgeport.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Robert Cavalliero, M.A.
Adjunct Professor of Spanish Language
Email: rcavalie@bridgeport.edu

Catherine Doenges, Ph.D. (Syracuse University)
Adjunct Associate Professor of Geography
Email: cdoenges@bridgeport.edu

John Ecay
Adjunct Instructor in Mass Communication
Email: johnecay@bridgeport.edu

Douglas House
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Mass Communication
Email: dhouse@bridgeport.edu

Ryan A. Knox, J.D. (University of Connecticut)
Adjunct Asisstant Professor of Political Science
Email: knoxryan@bridgeport.edu

Frederick Swarts, Ph.D. (The Union Institute)
Adjunct Professor of Global Development and Peace
Email: fswarts@bridgeport.edu

David A. Testone, M.A. (University of Notre Dame)
Adjunct Professor of Mass Communication
Email: dtestone@bridgeport.edu

Yulin Tsao-Owens, M.A.
Adjunct Lecturer of Chinese Language
Email: yulint@bridgeport.edu

Daniel Zegibe, M.B.A. (Syracuse University)
Consulting Senior Lecturer in Taiji and Chinese Martial Arts Studies
Office: Carlson Hall Second Floor
Phone: (203) 576-4966
Email: dzegibe@bridgeport.edu